PDA

View Full Version : Registrar Fraud?!


hakke
03-17-2009, 06:12 PM
I received a letter from Domain Renewal Group (http://www.domainrenewalgroup.com) saying I must renew it with them by April even though it expires in August.

Being that I am 99% sure this has nothing to do with you since you are my registrar I believe this is illegal and your customers are being coaxed into things they shouldn't be. I remember something with Verisign/Network Associates a few years back were similar activities were being done and that this ended up being against the law.

If you would like more information you can PM or email me and I will be glad to help. If I am mistaken please let me know as I would like to know where this type of issue stands regardless if it is what I think or not.

Thanks!

mjp
03-17-2009, 07:47 PM
A snail mail letter? Don't reply to that, just throw it away. That has been going on for more than 10 years, and it is a scam to get you to transfer to their very expensive domain registrar service. There must be a decent return on investment for that scam, because they keep coming under different names.

hakke
03-17-2009, 09:17 PM
I am well aware it is a scam. I thought they made it illegal a few years back. Oh well, guess not. I feel bad for the less savvy people out there. Thanks for the prompt reply!

Joseph Jun
03-18-2009, 08:58 AM
Unfortunately domain slamming is still a predatory practice that's in effect today as we do often field questions from customers who have registered a new domain name during the sign-up process or at a later time which is why we still maintain this (http://support.discountasp.net/KB/a255/i-received-domain-renewal-expiration-notice-through.aspx) Knowledge Base article.

If I recall correctly, VeriSign was sued but found not guilty and to the best of my knowledge have stopped sending the notices, however, the Domain Registry of America and the Domain Registry of Canada still sends out the notices. We've been able to thwart a lot of attempts because we'd receive requests for a domain name to be unlocked but it's still a semi-frequent occurrence.

I wish that there was an easier way to inform not just the DiscountASP.NET customers but all owners of domain names but it's just impossible to reach that large an audience.

mjp
03-18-2009, 09:18 AM
It is difficult to make a voluntary process illegal. The methods are deceptive, but ultimately, the domain owners willingly transfer their domains to these companies.

I have received those notices many times myself, and you have to read down into the small print to see what's really going on. Unfortunately a lot of people don't take the time to read them, they just see it as a necessary "bill" and pay it.