Adding a WSDL file to a ASP.NET MVC Web App

Discussion in 'ASP.NET WebServices' started by malikmm, Oct 7, 2011.

1. Hi,

Firstly, I must apologise as I am a novice and my approach may be flawed.

I am using MS Visual Web Developer 2010 Express on a Windows 7 Enterprise platform.

What I want to do is add a provided 3rd party wsdl file to a C# ASP.NET MVC Web App and then consume each service. I have successfully done this in a Java environment.

I am at the stage wher I am trying to add a Service Reference to the wsdl as follows:

-> select Service Reference from the menu options
    -> select Advanced
    -> select Add Web Reference

When I add the reference to my wsdl I get an access denied cannot copy message, as follows:

There was an error downloading 'C:\temp\wsdl'.
    Access to the path 'C:\temp\wsdl' is denied.
    There was an error downloading 'C:\temp\wsdl'.
    Access to the path

I would appreciate advice on my approach and why I am getting an access denied message. I have checked the property for the location I am going to and all seems to be fine.

2. can you try to move the file 'wsdl' out from windows temp folder and try to open it again?

make a folder in desktop or something and try to add from there see what happens

3. Adding a WSDL file to a ASP.NET MVC

Thanks for the idea:

I have moved my files under the c drive and this is what I get:

There was an error downloading 'C:\'.
    Access to the path 'C:\' is denied.
    There was an error downloading 'C:\'.

4. I should have added that this the same for the desktop folder:

There was an error downloading 'D:\Users\malikmo\Desktop\test'.
    Access to the path 'D:\Users\malikmo\Desktop\test' is denied.
    There was an error downloading 'D:\Users\malik

5. okay, just a thought; I assume you already have web reference to the project right? It should allow the wsdl to consume the service automatically so you don't need to add the service reference again