Beginners question

Discussion in 'ASP.NET Starter Kits' started by Phaedos, Jan 25, 2009.

1. Hi, I'm pretty new to all this, so sorry if this is a bit dumb. At the moment I have a desktop app that I made with C#, which relies on an external screen scraping program (from www.screen-scraper.com). This external program can run as a service, so my C# program just invokes it, makes it scrape the relevant websites, get's the data it has scraped processes it, outputs to screen etc etc.....All this works great, so now I am building an ASP website that will basically do the same thing. However I seem to have hit a bit of a stumbling block, since I obviously cant just install the external screen scraper to discountASP, so I'm wondering how I should go about having it serve my website?

The only thing I can think of so far, is to buy another home machine, have the scrape run looping forever on that scraping the websites, and have it update an SQL database. Then have my website use that database?

Just thinking there must be a better way than this? How are websites that use info scraped off other websites to update there content dynamically normally made and hosted?

Cheers for any help

2. I'm already pulling the HTTP, basically my website works like this:

I use a program called screen-scraper (from ekiwi company, not created by myself, but an install program I've installed on my laptop). Within this program I have written various scripts etc for specific websites to scrape data from. Now I have written in C# my own program, that invokes this screen-scraper program, making it loop over the scrapes infinitely, and takes the data from it and writes into an SQL Express database (also currently on my home machine).