Deployment application different than LocalHost application

Discussion in 'Visual Studio' started by TimLacourse, Apr 27, 2013.

1. I have been developing a Silverlight application in VS2012 for a few months. As I go I have been testing out my code in the debugger and running the application on my localhost. Occasionally I would publish it to my website. I haven't published it in a few weeks, but now when I do it none of my changes seem to appear on the website, but in my debugger they do. I realize I haven't provided much details, but I am relatively new to Silverlight programming and I am not sure what information would be the most helpful. Any assistance or possible direction in what I should be checking would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Tim

2. martino

martino DiscountASP.NET Staff

Hi Tim,

What happens when you use a different web browser? Do you see your changes on the new browser?

Try clearing your internet cache on your current browser to see if that resolves your issue.

3. I've tried from multiple computers and cleared the cache several times. Nothing changes. Since it used to work, I thought it might have been something in my code, but I tried to publish a version of my project from back when I knew it worked, but it doesn't publish either. Well it publishes, but if I make any changes to that version the changes are not reflected on the website.

4. martino

What happens when you run your project locally using debug mode? Do you see the changes locally running in debug mode in Visual Studio?

It might be possible that you could be uploading the same version your site is running currently. (But I could be 100% wrong)

What about when you connect via FTP? Do you see the files being updated? Like for example the time stamp was updated when you deployed the web application?

Try adding an extra file to your project just to see if it gets published on the site.