Hosting XenForo

Discussion in 'Getting started' started by gavin, Dec 31, 2015.

1. I have a DASP hosted ASP.NET web site and I'm currently using ASP.NET based forum software but am considering switching to XenForo.

The XenForo requirements are:

PHP: 5.2.11+
    MySQL: 5.0+
    PHP extensions: MySQLi, GD (with JPEG support), PCRE, SPL, SimpleXML, DOM, JSON, iconv, ctype
    PHP safe_mode off

Are all these requirements supported by DASP?

My background is ASP.NET and I have limited PHP experience, especially in a hosted environment.

Will I have permission to add the required PHP extensions and switch off safe mode?

My web site and the forum are deployed as separate ASP.NET applications with a link like http://www.mysite.com/forums.

How would I link the ASP.NET and XenForo applications? Would XenForo have to be hosted in a subdomain eg forums.mysite.com?

I realize that DASP use XenForo but is anyone else using XenForo hosted by DASP?

Thanks.

2. RayH

RayH DiscountASP.NET Lackey DiscountASP.NET Staff

Yes, you should be able to install XenForo on DiscountASP.NET. I have working installation on Everleap, so it should work here as well. As to your other question:

Will I have permission to add the required PHP extensions and switch off safe mode?

I have limited experience with XenForo so I'm not sure what you mean by "safe mode," but the extensions should already be enabled. Maybe MJP can chime in here. Regarding the linking, I'm not sure what you want to do. XenForo is pretty much a complete Forum Package Software. I would just keep it separate, and put some kind of HTML link on your main site that links to the forums. XenForo doesn't have to be in a sub-domain. You should be able to install it in a sub-directory.

3. Safe mode (http://php.net/manual/en/ini.sect.safe-mode.php) being off is a requirement of XenForo. However, it looks like this feature has been removed from later versions of PHP so that shouldn't be an issue.