Multiple domains pointing to single domains

Discussion in 'Domain names / DNS' started by Paul Ireland, Oct 24, 2013.

1. Hi, Apologies for the very basic nature of this request but I am new to all of this and having looking at the forums I cannot see a post with my (simple) requirements. I also do not want to make an error due to my limited knowledge.

I have a domain hosted by DASP (hostlongname.com). I have another domain (hostshortname.com), which I want redirected to the domain hostlongname.com.

I have repointed name servers of both domains to DASP and according to whois this has been fully actioned. When I go to www.hostlongname.com it displays content on DASP and webmail.hostlongname.com shows the smartermail interface so despite some mail not getting through this seems to work. However, when I go to www.hostshortname.com it displays old content (from previous server) and webmail.hostshortname.com does show a 'cannot display' webpage (if it was not propagated it would show the old webmail).

I currently do not have a domain pointer on hostlongname.com for hostshortname.com.

Do I need one as my colleagues suggested it was not required?

We need to receive mail to [email protected] and [email protected]. When things are set up and working, I assume all mail will go to [email protected] and this will be the only one I can send from. Is this correct?

Thanks, Paul

2. RayH

RayH DiscountASP.NET Lackey DiscountASP.NET Staff

Hi Paul,

Yes, you need to add the extra domain name as a domain pointer. You also need to point the name servers for the extra domain to:

NS1.DISCOUNTASP.NET
    NS2.DISCOUNTASP.NET
    NS3.DISCOUNTASP.NET