Switching Between InProc and SQL Server Session State

Discussion in 'ASP.NET / ASP.NET Core' started by nlk10010, Sep 11, 2012.

1. I originally tried InProc SessionState, then had the SQL Server SessionState objects added to my database (in an effort to debug a persistent Authorization problem).

Is it possible to switch back to InProc by just changing my Web.Config, effectively ignoring the SQL Server SessionState structure? Or do I have to have those objects removed in order for InProc to work correctly?

Thanks for any info.

2. Hi nlk10010,

As you may have seen on another thread, I am thinking of switching from InProc to SQL Server to store session state.
    Can you share your experience? What worked well? Was it noticeably slower?

And I'm no expert by any means(!!!), but my understanding is that if you change your web.config file back to its former sessionState mode="InProc", you should be back to InProc.

Thanks
    MarcusT

3. dmitri

dmitri DiscountASP.NET Staff

Switching back to InProc in web.config should be enough and you will need to uninstalled SQL Schema objects in your database.

4. Dmitri:

Is that (uninstalling the SQL schema objects) something we can do or do we need to submit a ticket to support?

5. Well I'm unfortunately beyond frustrated with this. SQL Server session state hasn't solved the issue; rather, it's made some processes non-functional, but I don't think it's the cause of my original issue.

I've added a machine key to my web.config, switched to SQL Server sessionstate and I STILL get random, frequent redirections back to my Home page. I've tried all sorts of logging/tracing and debugging "tricks" and can't figure out what's going on. At first I thought it was Authentication expiring but I changed things to allow Anonymous Access to all my controllers and I STILL get it. Session variables seem to disappear as well. But this is triggered simply by going from one controller to another in a span of no more than 5-10 seconds.