Google Cache..!!!

Discussion in 'Site Design, SEO, Google and Site Promotion' started by Chemo, Sep 12, 2008.

1. Hello,

First of all 'Small Hello' from me.. I say small as I am very new to SEO stuff and still have a long way to go :)

Ok.. now my problem..

I had written an article a while a go which took about 3 days for Google to it indexed so I started submitting it to few other articles I wrote that had better PR in Google.. The forums was using SEO friendly URLs for better search results. And finally the linked got indexed after 3 days.

Now the forum administrator changed the rewrite rules and the link that I had submitted were broken link and I had to change them all manually.. but now after 6 days Google still shows the old link which is a broken link... This article is going to be ranked but the I am loosing points because of the broken link.. :(

MY ARTICLE

The question here is.. Is there a way to learn to minimize the time between Google updates for a URL..? How are the updates calculated..? Is there a tool available that can inform Google that there is an update available..?

I may be asking too much but I have heard that this is possible with XML feeds.. does any one know any thing about it.

Chemo.

2. Thank you John.. Thank you for the wonderful and informative reply.

I do understand the advantage and disadvantage of having a forums but the site that I am posting in has a good PR for few of its pages. However the site does not get updated/changed very frequently.. so from what you say it is going to take a while for the new link to get updated in Google..

About the XML feeds.. I have heard that Google itself has it feeds where we can add our site and ask them to check for updates and only those who have Google Add sense on their site can have them.. how true is that..?

Also in forums, is every thread on the forum is treated as one page and does every thread have its own PR..?