MX Error

Discussion in 'Email' started by mjb1980, Jul 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Threads that have been inactive for 5 years or longer are closed to further replies. Please start a new thread.
  1. Hey guys and gals,

I am by no means a pro here - so please bear with me.

I have a domain purchased through GoDaddy and I'm using DASP as my hosting account (don't ask why I didn't just purchase the Domain through DASP).

The site is up and working (contact form sending to the right email), email is connected to Microsoft Outlook and Sending/Receiving... everything seems to be working fine.

Two email accounts were created through the GoDaddy Email System (example):
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

Through DASP, I created two Email Alias' (example):
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

... and these email alias' forward to the two GoDaddy email addresses.

In my site application I have the contact form sending emails to the email alias' and these email are indeed being received.

However, in the GoDaddy Mail control panel it is stating that the MX Records for both email accounts cannot be verified.

To resolve this issue, GoDaddy is telling me that I need to change the MX Records (CNAME and SMTP) to correct this error.

My questions are:

- Why is this even an issue? I'm not seeing any problems with functionality. Emails are being sent. Everything is connecting. Why the error?
    - Has ANYONE run into a similar issue - and how did you deal with it.
    - Finally, ... well... HELP!

Thanks in advance people!

2. ...I'm not sure but hopefully someone will chime in with an answer for you.
    Wanted to note however that I use GoDaddy for all of my domains here and it works out great.
    All I do is point the GoDaddy domains to DASP name servers then use the DASP smtp services, not GoDaddy.
    All the best,
    Mark

3. Hey Wise,

I thought that's what I had done.

I changed the DNS settings on the GoDaddy account to point to DASP NameServers.