Problem connecting to report

Discussion in 'General troubleshooting' started by prairieflow, Dec 19, 2010.

1. I am getting the message "The Request failed with HTTP status 401:Unauthorized".

I have created a report using Report Builder 2 which I have uploaded to the server. I am using Report Viewer imbedded in my application to access the report.

I am a real beginner with Report Services. When I was working only with aspx pages that displayed gridviews connected to my data base I was using "Windows" authorization which did not require any special security code. However, now that I am trying to create reports I understand that the report server does not support "Windows" authorization so I must add additional securities code which is something that is new for me. What I would like to be able to do is to make accessing these reports as easy as possible for my users - any user that has access to the aspx form that contains the Report View should be able to view the report.

I am assuming that there is something missing from either the code contained in the report file or the code contained in the Report Viewer and/or possibly something is missing from my config.web file.

The code at the beginning of the report file (FPPCScheduleENewX.rdl) which includes 'DataSource' information is as follows:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
    - <Report xmlns:rd="http://schemas.microsoft.com/SQLServer/reporting/reportdesigner" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/sqlserver/reporting/2008/01/reportdefinition">
    - <DataSources>
    - <DataSource Name="DataSource1">
    - <ConnectionProperties>
    <DataProvider>SQL</DataProvider>
    <ConnectString>Data Source=MICHELE-PC;Initial Catalog=ElectionMasterDatabase</ConnectString>
    <IntegratedSecurity>false</IntegratedSecurity>
    </ConnectionProperties>
    <rd:DataSourceID>477f9525-a2ae-4b00-8aa0-8d0e92b84001</rd:DataSourceID>
    <rd:SecurityType>Forms</rd:SecurityType>
    </DataSource>
    </DataSources>