What do you do when the content filter doesn't work?

Discussion in 'Email' started by 86Tona, Dec 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Threads that have been inactive for 5 years or longer are closed to further replies. Please start a new thread.
  1. Well the first thing I did was to contact support. I've used other content filters and I'm not a newbie.

Step one select Subject
    Step two add words to be filtered
    Step three select do not deliver
    Step four save

How hard is that? But, I'm still getting emails with the word I am filtering in the subject.

When I contacted support to tell them this and to let them know that filtering isn't working for me I get a reply that states that I should try here because they 'can't provide formal support.....'

Why in {insert explitive here} did I keep my account this year if I can't get support for the product and its features?

2. When you add the keyword to be filtered, do you choose

AND - All criteria must be met
    OR - One or more criteria must be met
    and did you enable wildcards in search strings

What is the rule you setup?
    ( Rule )
    mark as read, do not deliver, move message, prefix subject, add header, copy message, reroute message

I have just tested this with combinations of rule, filtering the subject and use 'prefix subject' to mark any incoming message with any filtered word in the subject should have prefix 'FILTERED' and it works just fine.

you might want try this

Content filtering >> new >> check subject >> check OR, tick 'enable wildcards in search string' then put in the word you want to be filtered, one word per line (from the drop down choose 'contains' >> Choose the rule you want for the filtered message, if you dont want to receive this at all tick 'Do not deliver' >> save

3. I have a rule that should filter for the subject
    I selected 'or'
    I entered 'orchard' both with lowercase o and upper case O one word on each line.
    Then I selected not to deliver