Publishing with FP2003

Discussion in 'FrontPage' started by BarrySumpter, Aug 21, 2004.

1. Super novice... (absolute beginner)

Just had a quick read thru
    http://kb.discountasp.net/article.aspx?id=10169
    (thanks so much for this article!!! Brilliant!)

I would like to create a sub directory like:
    http://www.yourdomain.com/web/

Where the 'web' directory would contain all my web files.

(Please read thru the article (very short) above to put my question in context)

At the moment FP2003 is taking 2+ hours to syncronize to http://www.yourdomain.com/. i.e. NOT /web/

Is there a better / faster way (maybe just FTP the files over) ?

How can I point FP2003 to http://www.yourdomain.com/web/ ?

Any suggestions?

discountasp.net rocks!

Thanks,
    Barry G. Sumpter

Post Edited By Moderator (Joel Thoms) : 7/10/2006 8:48:11 PM GMT

2. http://kb.discountasp.net/article.aspx?id=10107

Are there any precautions I should be aware of when using FrontPage?

If you choose to publish using FrontPage, we recommend that you do not use any other program to transfer files to your website via FTP. (eg. WSFTP, ..etc.). It is possible for your FrontPage extensions to become corrupt, which may affect the functionality of your website. In these cases, you may need to reinstall FrontPage extensions and reupload your website.

Thanks,
    Barry G. Sumpter

Post Edited By Moderator (Joel Thoms) : 7/10/2006 8:48:21 PM GMT

3. To use heavy-loaded software apps you really need a fast internet provider, I hope you?re not on a dial-up...lol.A good fast PC would help you if you have a fast internet provider.</o:p>

4. Bruce

Bruce DiscountASP.NET Staff

how big is your site?

Though not officially stated, FrontPage has problem with very large website. If your site is bigger than 100 MB, I suggest you consider some other editors.

I have seen report that it takes an hour to recalculate the hyperlink on a large website.

Bruce

DiscountASP.NET
    www.DiscountASP.NET