Subdomain redirection

Discussion in 'FrontPage' started by JustJo, Jan 28, 2009.

1. I hope someone can help me. I am just learning how to use ASP with Visual Studio and I am having a lot of trouble trying to make a subdomain work. Until this day, aslong as a subdomain is added correctly into a server it works without anything to do from the user part (subdomain.domain.net)but with discountasp the story is different: I am told that in order for it to work I have to add a scriptto my default page, which can contain nothing but the script, and it's the script that will call the requested URL by any user.

This is thescrip:

The following is a sample script that you can use to redirect a subdomain. You will need to place it as default document on your document root.

<%
    If InStr( UCase(Request.ServerVariables("SERVER_NAME")), UCase("subdomain1.YourHostedDomainName.com") ) > 0 Then
    Response.Redirect("/subdomain1")
    ElseIf InStr( UCase(Request.ServerVariables("SERVER_NAME")), UCase("subdomain2.YourHostedDomainName.com") ) > 0 Then
    Response.Redirect("/subdomain2")
    ElseIf InStr( UCase(Request.ServerVariables("SERVER_NAME")), UCase("subdomain3.YourHostedDomainName.com") ) > 0 Then
    Response.Redirect("/subdomain3/home.asp")
    End If
    %>

When I asked for help they told me they don't offer any help with scripts and I should try the forum.

The original site is at a different server right now but I have to change because they don't offer ASP hosting and it's a must that I make the transition to asp.net, and I do have the subdomain working without any problem (very lousy design).